The Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (IETE) is India's leading recognized professional society devoted to the advancement of Science and Technology of Electronics, Telecommunication & IT. Founded in 1953, it serves more than 70,000 members through various centres’, whose number is 62, spread all over India and abroad. The Institution provides leadership in Scientific and Technical areas of direct importance to the national development and economy. Government of India has recognized IETE as a Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (SIRO) and also notified as an educational Institution of national eminence.

The IEEE is made up of 10 regions, 36 Technical societies, 4 Technical councils, approximately 1200 individuals and joint society chapters and 300 sections.



The objectives of IETE focus on advancing electro-technology. The IETE conducts and sponsors technical meetings, conferences, symposia, and exhibitions all over India, publishes technical journals and provides continuing education as well as career advancement opportunities to its members.


  • To plan and organize technical programs and activities, such as, special lectures, workshops, seminars, symposia, exhibitions etc. for the benefit of student members on a regular basis.

  • To provide common platform for the student members to exchange ideas and information on the topics of their interest e.g. curriculum, employment /higher educational opportunities, emerging trends, new development etc.

  • To facilitate technical visits / practical training / project work / employment, of the student members in R&D laboratories, industries, academic institutions etc. To encourage team work and the spirit of self-reliance among the student members;

  • To serve as a focal point at the institution on all aspects of professional development of the student members

IETE at P.S.R.Rengasamy College of Engineering For Women


The department of Electronics and Communication Engineering and Electrical and Electronics engineering of P.S.R. Rengasamy College of Engineering For Women inagurate the IETE students chapter on 24th October 2011.The inaguration was presided over by the chief guest Dr.S.Arivazhagan, the “IETE chairman” IETE Sub centre Sivakasi, in the presence of the director Mr.R.Sundar and the Principal Dr.K.Ramasamy.

Members in IETE

99 students were enrolled their names as members of IETE in the year 2011,now we have 107 members.


  • Guest Lecture by ER.M.RaviChandran M.E; from Tuticorin Thermal Power Station in the topic “Electrical Equipments in Thermal Power Station” on 11.02.2012

  • Guest Lecture by DR.S.Srinivasan M.E,Ph.D; from Annamalai University, Chidambaram, in the topic “Recent Trends in Embeded System and its Application” on 15.02.2012

  • Guest Lecture by DR.S.P.Natarajan M.E,Ph.D; from Annamalai University, Chidambaram, in the topic “Fundamentals of Control Systems and its Application” on 15.02.2012

  • Guest Lecture by Mr.K.Pandiarajan M.E,Ph.D(pursuing); from Sharp Automation, Madurai in the topic “PLC and SCADA” on 16.02.2012

IETE Coordinator

  • Mr.K.Karthik (Asst.Professor/ECE Dept)